Is Jello Gluten-Free? – Jello is a snack that is usually served as a dessert and jello is almost the same as jelly and is equally popular all over the world.
At school or at home jello is often served as a dessert. However, jello is also widely enjoyed as a low-calorie food or as a daily snack.
If you are among those who have difficulty digesting gluten, you may be wondering whether jello is a gluten-free food or not.
This article tells you whether Jello is gluten-free or not, and provides recipes for making jello that is gluten-free.
Gluten-free or not?
Jello as a dessert or dessert is produced by many companies. However the Jello-O brand is registered with the Kraft Foods Group, Inc. Jello is a term that refers to foods that use gelatin. For that, if you find jello on the market you have to look at the packaging whether it is gluten free or not, especially for those of you who do not tolerate gelatin.
There are many jello sold in the market that are ready for consumption. However, if you want to make your own, you can buy packaged jello.
The main ingredient in jello is gelatin, and it comes from a protein called collagen. Gelatin is obtained from the skin, joints, ligaments, and from animal bones. Usually this gelatin is obtained from pigs or from cows. So, jello is generally not suitable for those of you who avoid pork foods.
Meanwhile, other ingredients in the manufacture of jello are sugar, flavor, and artificial coloring. Also, it contains adipic and fumaric acids. These ingredients help improve the taste, texture and make the jello product higher.
Even though jello is gluten-based, there is jello that is gluten-free, below we explain how to choose gluten-free jello.
How to select a gluten-free jello
To get gluten-free jello, you can look at the packaging. Look for products that are written gluten-free. If you do not find one that is gluten-free, then you are challenged to eat less gluten. But take it easy, if you really can’t consume products that contain gluten, you can get gluten-free jello by making your own at home.
Making your own jello at home is very easy, you only need a few ingredients to be able to make the jello you want (gluten free).
To make gluten-free jello, you need:
- Two tablespoons of gluten-free gelatin
- 250-500 ml or about 1-2 cups of fruit juice
- 1 cup of water or about 250 ml
- Stevia, sugar, gluten-free sweetener to taste.
How to cook:
Add 1/2 cup of fruit juice (125 ml) and saucepan and heat over low heat. Add two tablespoons of gelatin (30 ml) and mix well. If it is completely dissolved, let it sit for two minutes.
Add the remaining water and juice to the mixture and stir again. To increase the sweetness, gradually add sugar, or a gluten-free sweetener, add until you find the flavor you want.
The mixture is added in a bowl, or added in a mold. Then, cover it with a plastic cover and place it in the refrigerator, for at least 3 to 4 hours.
Also see: The Best Essential Oils for Poison Ivy
Jello contains gelatin, sugar and other preservatives that are gluten-free. So, jello is a gluten-free dessert or dessert.
However, the jello that is usually produced in the market is a product that contains gluten. So, most companies can’t really say that their jello is gluten-free.
So, to get gluten-free jello you have to make it yourself at home. Make it really easy, your product is gluten free and it’s fun.